Conseil Consultatif

Le projet MenAfriNet fonctionne avec un conseil consultatif de 6 membres, composé d’experts en méningite, qui ne sont pas directement impliqués dans le projet, qui fournissent une supervision et une orientation stratégique. Les membres du conseil consultatif ont un mandat d’un an, renouvelable annuellement, pour la durée du projet.

ImageBio
Image

Dominique Caugant, PhD, Institut Norvégien de Santé Publique

Dominique A. Caugant, Directrice Scientifique et Directrice Assistante au Département de Bactériologie et Immunologie, Institut Norvégien de Santé Publique, et Professeur Associé au Département de Médecine Communautaire, Université d’Oslo, Oslo, Norvège. Elle a été Directrice du Centre du Centre de Collaboration de L’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS) pour la Référence et la Recherche sur les Méningocoques à Oslo depuis 1992. Ses principaux domaines de recherche sont la génétique des populations et l’épidémiologie moléculaire des bactéries pathogènes. Elle a travaillé sur divers agents pathogènes infectieux, tels que Neisseria meningitidis, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Listeria monocytogenes, le groupe Bacillus cereus, streptocoques et pneumocoques, développant des outils moléculaires pour l’étude de la transmission des maladies infectieuses, le développement de la résistance aux antibiotiques, et l’évolution des agents pathogènes. Elle s’investi dans la recherche de vaccins, en particulier contre les infections à méningocoques, y compris le développement de vaccins comprenant des vésicules de membrane externe, le test de la couverture potentielle de nouveaux vaccins et l’évaluation de l’impact de la vaccination. Elle est particulièrement intéressée par les aspects des infections mondiales et est impliquée dans plusieurs projets de recherche internationaux, en particulier en Afrique sub-Saharienne.
Image

Tumani Corrah, CBE, MRG, PhD, FRCP, FACP, Africa Research Development, Medical Research Council UK, Medical Research Council Unit, The Gambia

Tumani Corrah est le Directeur du Conseil de la Recherche Médicale Britannique – Développement de la Recherche en Afrique. Auparavant, Professeur Corrah était le Directeur de l’Unité du Conseil de Recherche Médicale, La Gambie de 2004 à 2013. Il a rejoint le groupe en tant que clinicien en 1982 et a gravi les échelons en tant que clinicien de recherche et clinicien principal, Directeur des services cliniques et Directeur par Intérim de l’Unité. En 2004 il est devenu le premier africain directeur de l’Unité Britannique du Conseil de Recherche Médicale de « The Gambia ». Il a également siégé aux comités de nombreuses organisations internationales, y compris le Réseau Africain de Recherche sur le Sida, le groupe de travail de l’OMS sur la tuberculose en Afrique, le Royal College of Physicians de London, le Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, et le Comité consultatif scientifique des pays européens et ceux en voie de développement pour un partenariat dans les tests cliniques. Ses récentes nominations comprennent l’adhésion au comité consultative scientifique aux programmes mondiaux de santé de Bill & Melinda Gates; au comité d’entrevue de Wellcome Trust santé publique et médecine tropicale; et au comité consultatif stratégique international de Bill & Melinda Gates – Etude multicentrique entérique mondiale. Professeur Corrah a également été président du West African College of Physicians (WACP) et est actuellement le Directeur du bureau international du WACP. Un expert sur la gouvernance de la recherche, il était un membre de longue date du comité d’éthiques du Gouvernement de la Gambie/MRC, dont 4 ans en tant que président. Il a des liens étroits avec les organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales en Afrique et à travers le monde. Un expert dans le renforcement des capacités, Professor Corrah a réussi à établir un certain nombre de collaboration productives et mutuellement.
Image

Brian Greenwood, PhD, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Après sa qualification en médecine à l’Université de Cambridge, Brian Greenwood a travaillé 15 ans au Nigeria, d’abord à l’University College Hospital d’Ibadan puis à Ahmadu Bello University de Zaria où il a aidé à démarrer une nouvelle école de médecine. En 1980, il a déménagé à la Gambie où il a passé les 15 prochaines années en tant que Directeur des laboratoires du Conseil de Recherche Médicale Britannique. En Gambie, sa recherche était focalisée sur la prévention des principales maladies infectieuses prévalentes chez les enfants d’Afrique de l’Ouest, y compris le paludisme, la pneumonie et la méningite. En 1996, il partit pour le London School of Hygiene& Tropical Medicine où il a continué ses recherches sur la prévention du paludisme, le méningococcique et les infections pneumococciques en Afrique. De 2000 à 2008 il a coordonné la Gates Malaria Partnership, un programme de recherche sur le paludisme et de développement des capacités dans plusieurs pays d’Afrique. En 2008, il est devenu le coordinateur d’une initiative de développement des capacités, le Malaria Capacity Development Consortium (MCDC) (www.mcdconsortium.or), qui soutient un programme de formation en doctorat (PhD) et postuniversitaire en paludisme dans cinq universités d’Afrique sub-Saharienne. Il est également directeur d’un consortium, le African Meningococcal Carriage Consortium (MenAfriCar) (www.menafricar.org) qui étudie l’impact d’un nouveau vaccin antiméningococcique sur les épidémies de méningites en Afrique. En 2015 il a aidé à établir des essais d’un vaccin d’Ebola en Sierra Leone. Il est conseiller auprès de l’OMS, la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates, plusieurs autre organisations philanthropiques et sociétés pharmaceutiques développant de nouveaux médicaments et de vaccins pour une utilisation dans les pays en voie de développement.
Image

F. Marc LaForce, M.D., Serum Institute of India

F. Marc LaForce est le directeur des services technique au Serum Institute of India, Ltd. De 2001 à 2012 il a dirigé le Projet Vaccins contre la Méningite (MVP), un partenariat entre l’OMS et PATH, établi en 2001 grâce à une subvention de la fondation Bill & Melinda Gates, avec pour mission d’éliminer les épidémies de méningite comme problème de santé publique en Afrique sub-Saharienne à travers le développement, les tests, l’introduction, et l’utilisation généralisée de vaccins antiméningococciques. Avant de joindre PATH, Dr. LaForce a occupé des postes universitaires et administratifs de haut niveau à l’Université du Colorado et l’école de médecine de l’Université de Rochester. De 1994 à 2001, il a présidé le Comité Directeur de l’Epidémiologie et la Recherche de Terrain pour la grappe de vaccins de l’OMS et de 1998 à 2001, il a été président du conseil épidémiologique des forces armées américaines. Il est membre de l’American College of Physicians and the Infectious Diseases Society of America et détient le grade de Professeur en médecine Clinique à New York University (Langone) School of Medicine.
Image

Marie-Pierre Preziosi, M.D., PhD, Meningitis Vaccine Project

Marie-Pierre Preziosi a été nommée nouvelle directrice de MVP en Mars 2012. MVP a été créé en 2001 grâce à une subvention de la fondation Bill & Melinda Gates, avec pour mission d’éliminer les épidémies de méningite comme problème de santé publique en Afrique sub-Saharienne à travers le développement, les tests, l’introduction, et l’utilisation généralisée de vaccins antiméningococciques. Dr. Preziosi est membre du projet depuis 2003, elle a servi plus récemment en tant que directrice du développement clinique, dans le cadre de son rôle en tant médecin d’OMS. Dans ce rôle, elle a dirigé la stratégie et la mise en œuvre du travail clinique de MVP, elle a contribué à la consolidation de solides relations entre les organisations partenaires de MVP, en particulier l’OMS et PATH, et a contribué en conseils technique pour les activités d’introduction du vaccin antiméningococcique et à la recherche pour définir une orientation politique factuelle pour l’utilisation optimale du vaccin. Avant de joindre MVP, elle était professeur adjointe invitée à Rollins School of Public Health de Emory University à Atlanta, où elle a mené des recherches sur la vaccination contre la coqueluche. En tant qu’épidémiologiste à l’Institute pour la Recherche et le Développement, elle a passé plusieurs années au Sénégal à conduire des essais de vaccin contre la coqueluche. Son intérêt pour les vaccins a commencé avec les études sur le vaccin Hib à Pasteur Mérieux. Marie-Pierre Preziosi a obtenu son diplôme de médecine de l’Université Claude Bernard à Lyon et son doctorat (PhD) en épidémiologie de l’Université Victor Segalen à Bordeaux (France). Elle s’est formée en médecine tropicale à l’Institut Prince Léopold de Médecine Tropicale d’Anvers (Belgique) et en épidémiologie de terrain aux Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) à Atlanta (USA).
Image

Samba Sow, M.D., MSc., Center for Vaccine Development

Samba O. Sow est Directeur Général du Centre pour le Développement des Vaccins (CVD) au Mali et Professeur de médicine à l'University of Maryland School of Medicine. Médecin et épidémiologiste, il coordonne les études épidémiologiques et essais cliniques sur les maladies évitables par la vaccination qui guident la politique gouvernementale. Sa recherche couvre divers vaccins et maladies évitables par la vaccination. Il est membre du comité consultatif scientifique de la cour pénale international du Mali, du Réseau mondial de formation de l’OMS, du Conseil d’experts en sensibilisation sur les Pneumocoques, et du Groupe Stratégique Consultatif d’Experts (SAGE) de l’OMS sur le groupe de travail pour la vaccination contre la méningite. Dr. Sow a reçu le prix 2000 “Paul Laviron” Prize en Médecine Tropicale de l’Université de Marseille et a été chargé de cours sur fonds commémoratifs à l’American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene en 2006.
Image

David S. Stephens, M.D., Emory University

David S. Stephens a obtenu sa License en Biologie à la Citadel, son M.D. à Bowman Gray School of Medicine de Wake Forest University. Dr. Stephens a effectué son stage, sa résidence, et sa recherche sur les maladies infectieuses et la pathogenèse microbienne à l’Université Vanderbilt. En 1982, il rejoint la division des maladies infectieuses du Département de Médecine de l’Ecole de Médecine de l’Université d’Emory et était membre du personnel médical chargé combattants (VA), Grady Memorial et Emory University Hospitals. Il a été nommé Professeur agrégé de médecine en 1987 et Directeur de la Division des maladies infectieuses et Professeur de médecine en 1992. En 1998, il est devenu Professeur en Microbiologie et Immunologie et en 2000 il a été nommé Professeur d’Epidémiologie à Rollins School of Public Health. Toujours en 2000, après avoir servi comme président par intérim, il a été nommé premier vice-président du Département de Médecine. De 2005 à 2007, il a servi en tant que doyen exécutif adjoint pour la recherche à l’Ecole de Médecine, et en 2008 a été nommé premier vice-président pour la recherche au Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center. Récemment, il a été nommé président du Département de Médecine, Emory University School of Medicine, et Chef de la médecine, Emory Healthcare. Son programme de recherche hautement productif, continuellement financé par des subventions fédérales compétitives depuis 1981 (National Institutes of Health, CDC, Veterans Administration), a mis l’accent sur les déterminants génétiques de la pathogenèse bactérienne, les agents de la méningite bactérienne, et les vaccins bactériens. Il a contribué à plus de 280 publications sur les malaises infectieuses, la pathogenèse moléculaire, l’épidémiologie, la vaccinologie e l’immunologie, y compris des articles dans Annual of Internal Medicine, New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences et Nature Immunology. Il a été le président du comité consultatif national de l’immunisation de l’U.S. Food and Drug Administration et est membre de l’Association des Médecins Américains et membre de l’Infectious Diseases Society of America. Il a été à la tête de l’élaboration de programmes couronnés de succès sur les maladies infectieuses et pathogenèses microbiennes et a été un grand contributeur dans la création et le développement du centre de vaccin d’Emory, du Emory Center for AIDS Research (CFAR) et le Pediatric Center of Emory and Children’s Healthcare d’Atlanta. Il est le PI du National Institutes of Health (NIH), Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA), Atlanta Clinical and Translational Science Institute (ACTSI).

Advisory Board

MenAfriNet operates with a 7-member Advisory Board, composed of experts in the meningitis field, not directly involved in the project, who provide oversight and strategic guidance. Advisory Board members serve a one-year term, renewable annually, for the life of the project

Image

Dominique Caugant, PhD, Norwegian Institute of Public Health

Dominique A. Caugant, Chief Scientist and Assisting Department Director at the Department of Bacteriology and Immunology, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, and Adjunct Professor at the Department of Community Medicine, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway. She has been Director of the World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Meningococci in Oslo since 1992. Her main fields of research are population genetics and molecular epidemiology of pathogenic bacteria. She has worked with various infectious disease agents, such as Neisseria meningitidis, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Listeria monocytogenes, the Bacillus cereus group, streptococci and pneumococci, developing molecular tools for the study of infectious disease transmission, the development of antibiotic resistance, and the evolution of pathogens. She is involved in vaccine research, especially against meningococcal disease, including development of outer membrane vesicle vaccines, testing potential coverage of new vaccines and evaluation of impact of vaccination. She is particularly interested in aspects of global infections and involved in several international research projects, especially in sub-Saharan Africa.


Image

Tumani Corrah, CBE, MRG, PhD, FRCP, FACP, Africa Research Development, Medical Research Council UK, Medical Research Council Unit, The Gambia

Tumani Corrah is the UK Medical Research Council’s Director – Africa Research Development. Previously, Professor Corrah was the Unit Director of the Medical Research Council Unit, The Gambia from 2004 to 2013. He joined the Unit in 1982 as a junior clinician and progressed through the ranks as a research clinician and senior clinician, Director of Clinical Services and acting Unit Director. In 2004 he became the first African Director of the UK Medical Research Council Unit in The Gambia. He has also served on the committees of many international organizations, including the African Aids Research Network, WHO TB Task Force in Africa, Royal College of Physicians of London, Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, and the Scientific Advisory Committee of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership. Recent appointments include membership of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Bill & Melinda Gates Global Health Programmes; Wellcome Trust Public Health and Tropical Medicine Interview Committee; and the Bill & Melinda Gates International Strategic Advisory Committee – Global Enterics Multicentre Study. Professor Corrah also served as President of the West African College of Physicians (WACP) and is currently the Director of the WACP’s International Office. An expert on research governance, he was a long-standing member of the Gambia Government/MRC Ethics Committee, including 4 years as Chairman. He has strong links with governmental and non-governmental organizations in Africa and throughout the world. An expert in capacity building, Professor Corrah has been successful in establishing a number of productive, mutually beneficial ‘North-South’ collaborations.


Image

Brian Greenwood, PhD, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

After qualification in medicine at Cambridge University, Brian Greenwood spent 15 years working in Nigeria, first at University College Hospital, Ibadan and then at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria where he helped to start a new medical school. In 1980, he moved to The Gambia where he spent the next 15 years as director of the UK’s Medical Research Council Laboratories. In The Gambia, his research focussed on the prevention of the major infectious diseases prevalent in West African children including malaria, pneumonia and meningitis. In 1996, he moved to the London School of Hygiene& Tropical Medicine where he has maintained his research on the prevention of malaria, meningococcal and pneumococcal infections in Africa. From 2000 - 2008 he coordinated the Gates Malaria Partnership, a programme of malaria research and capacity development in several countries in Africa. In 2008, he became the coordinator of a successor malaria capacity development initiative, the Malaria Capacity Development Consortium (MCDC) (www.mcdconsortium.or) , which supports PhD and post-graduate training in malaria in five universities in sub-Saharan Africa. He is also director of a consortium, the African Meningococcal Carriage Consortium (MenAfriCar)(www.menafricar.org) which is studying the impact of a new meningococcal vaccine on epidemic meningitis in Africa. In 2015 he helped to establish a trial of an Ebola vaccine in Sierra lLeone. He is an advisor to WHO, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, several other philanthropic organisations and pharmaceutical companies developing new drugs and vaccines for use in the developing world.


Image

F. Marc LaForce, M.D., Serum Institute of India

F. Marc LaForce is the Director of Technical Services at the Serum Institute of India, Ltd. From 2001 to 2012 he directed the Meningitis Vaccine Project (MVP), a partnership between the WHO and PATH, established in 2001 through a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, with the mission to eliminate epidemic meningitis as a public health problem in sub-Saharan Africa through the development, testing, introduction, and widespread use of conjugate meningococcal vaccines. Before joining PATH, Dr. LaForce held academic and senior administrative positions at the University of Colorado and the University of Rochester Schools of Medicine. From 1994 to 2001, he chaired the Steering Committee on Epidemiology and Field Research for WHO’s vaccine cluster and from 1998 to 2001, he served as President of the U.S. Armed Forces Epidemiological Board. He is a fellow of the American College of Physicians and the Infectious Diseases Society of America and holds the rank of Clinical Professor of Medicine at the New York University (Langone) School of Medicine.


Image

Marie-Pierre Preziosi, M.D., PhD, Meningitis Vaccine Project

Marie-Pierre Preziosi was appointed in March 2012 as the new director of the MVP, established in 2001 through a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, with the mission to eliminate epidemic meningitis as a public health problem in sub-Saharan Africa through the development, testing, introduction, and widespread use of conjugate meningococcal vaccines. A project member since 2003, Dr. Preziosi most recently served as the director of clinical development, as part of her role as WHO Medical Officer. In this role, she has led the strategy and implementation of the MVP clinical development work, has helped foster strong relationships between the MVP partner organizations, in particular WHO and PATH, and has contributed technical guidance to meningococcal vaccine introduction activities and research to define evidence-based policy for optimal vaccine use. Prior to joining MVP, she was a visiting assistant professor at the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University in Atlanta, where she conducted research on pertussis vaccination. As an epidemiologist at the Institute for Research and Development, she spent several years in Senegal conducting pertussis vaccine trials. Her interest in vaccines started with Hib vaccine studies at Pasteur Mérieux. Marie-Pierre Preziosi earned her medical degree from Claude Bernard University in Lyon and her PhD in epidemiology from Victor Segalen University in Bordeaux (France). She trained in tropical medicine at the Prince Léopold Institute of Tropical Medicine in Antwerp (Belgium) and in field epidemiology at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in Atlanta (USA).


Image

Samba Sow, M.D., MSc., Center for Vaccine Development

Samba O. Sow is Director General of the Center for Vaccine Development (CVD) in Mali and Professor of Medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. A physician and epidemiologist, he coordinates epidemiological studies and clinical trials on vaccine-preventable diseases that inform governmental policy. His research spans diverse vaccines and vaccine-preventable diseases. He serves on the Scientific Advisory Panel for Mali’s International Criminal Court, WHO’s Global Training Network, the Pneumococcal Awareness Council of Experts, and on WHO’s Strategic Advisory Group of Experts (SAGE) on Immunization meningitis working group. Dr. Sow received the 2000 “Paul Laviron” Prize in Tropical Medicine from the University of Marseille and was Commemorative Fund Lecturer of the American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene in 2006.


Image

David S. Stephens, M.D., Emory University

David S. Stephens earned his B.S. in Biology at The Citadel, his M.D. from Bowman Gray School of Medicine of Wake Forest University. Dr. Stephens completed his internship, residency, and a fellowship in infectious diseases and microbial pathogenesis at Vanderbilt University. In 1982, he joined the Infectious Diseases Division of the Department of Medicine of Emory University School of Medicine and has served on the medical staffs of the Veteran’s Affairs (VA) Medical Center, Grady Memorial and Emory University Hospitals. He was appointed Associate Professor of Medicine in 1987 and Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and Professor of Medicine in 1992. In 1998, he became Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and in 2000 was named Professor of Epidemiology in the Rollins School of Public Health. Also in 2000, after serving as Interim Chair, he was appointed Executive Vice Chair of the Department of Medicine. From 2005 through 2007, he served as the Executive Associate Dean for Research in the School of Medicine, and in 2008 was named the first Vice President for Research of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center. Recently, he was appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine, and Chief of Medicine, Emory Healthcare His highly productive research program, continuously funded by competitive federal grants since 1981 (National Institutes of Health, CDC, Veterans Administration), has focused on the genetic determinants of bacterial pathogenesis, the agents of bacterial meningitis, and bacterial vaccines. He has contributed over 280 publications in infectious diseases, molecular pathogenesis, epidemiology, vaccinology and immunology including articles in the Annals of Internal Medicine, New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and Nature Immunology. He was chair of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s National Vaccine Advisory Committee and is a member of the Association of American Physicians and a Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America. He has led the development of successful programs in infectious diseases and microbial pathogenesis and has been a major contributor to the creation and development of the Emory Vaccine Center, the Emory Center for AIDS Research (CFAR) and the Pediatric Center of Emory and Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. He is the PI of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA), the Atlanta Clinical and Translational Science Institute (ACTSI).